THE INTERMUNICIPAL COMMUNITY OF COIMBRA REGION is the largest in the country, with around 460 thousand inhabitants, integrating 19 municipalities from three different districts (Coimbra, Aveiro and Viseu), with an area of 4336 Km2.

It is made up of the municipalities of Arganil, Cantanhede, Coimbra, Condeixa-a-Nova, Figueira da Foz, Góis, Lousã, Mealhada, Mira, Miranda do Corvo, Montemor-o-Velho, Mortágua, Oliveira do Hospital, Pampilhosa da Serra, Penacova, Penela, Soure, Tábua and Vila Nova de Poiares.

In 2016


Resident population





In administrative and statistical terms, the Coimbra Region is a NUT III, located in Portugal's Central Region (NUT II). On the north, it borders the Aveiro Region and Viseu Dão-Lafões, Beiras and Serra da Estrela on the East, Beira Baixa and the Leiria Region on the South, and the Atlantic Ocean on the West.

As it is a region spanning nineteen municipalities, it is inevitably a very heterogeneous region, manifested both in terms of population characteristics, resident population, population densities, age structure and level of education, as well as in terms of differences in coastal region vs. inland and rural vs. urban profiles.

Ageing Population (%)